AIA UK Excellence in Design Awards - Winners Announced

The AIA UK Chapter held its 21st Annual Excellence in Design Awards Gala at the Zaha Hadid designed Magazine Restaurant, at the Serpentine Sackler Gallery in Hyde Park last night. Over 120 people convened to celebrate this annual trans-Atlantic recognition for design excellence by UK architects or for projects completed in the UK.

This year’s jury was headed by Fred Manson, Associate Director of Heatherwick Studio, and included a versatile mix of members including Brett Steele, Director of AA School of Architecture and Owen Pritchard, Technical Editor of Architects’ Journal. Mr Manson, along with members of the jury including Alison Brooks, Founding Director of Alison Brooks Architects, conferred certificates and accolades upon well-known architects, emerging architects and students alike.

“The enjoyable task of judging the AIA UK Awards demonstrated the range of excellent work from the familiar to the unknown in Britain today. The jury judged the digital entries which favoured projects with clear, strong forms. Since the selection was made on the basis of images, perhaps the award should be given equally to the photographers.”  – Fred Manson, head juror

This year, for the first time ever, AIA UK Design Awards opened a category for young architects, with design directors under 40 years-of-age, to encourage and reward work by a new generation of architects. The jury awarded this prize to The Lee Centre by Feilden Fowles for its outstanding use of materials and interior spaces. Edmund Fowles and Fergus Feilden enthusiastically accepted the certificate and honour bestowed from the jury.


Young Architect Award

Feilden Fowles Architects – The Lee Centre, Ralph Allen School, Bath, UK (completed 2013)

Photography: © Henrietta Williams


In parallel with the Professional and Young Architect awards, the chapter also recognizes future talent through the Noel Hill Student Travel Award. With the generous support of Laufen, this program awarded two students from the Mackintosh School of Architecture at The Glasgow School of Art with £1000 to support their trip to Cambodia to assist with the design and construction of a new community centre in Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Ryan McGaffney and Jennifer Taggart will spend July and August with the humanitarian design organisation Orkidstudio in Cambodia, after completing a series of design workshops to finalize their design. These two students will construct the centre using local materials with assistance from the organisation, as together they educate and empower the local men and women with the tools to build, maintain and potentially construct additional structures as the community’s needs continue to grow. 


Noel Hill Travel Award

Ryan McGaffney and Jennifer Taggart

The Mackintosh School of Architecture at The Glasgow School of Art

Previous design by the students using temporary materials, designed and built in two weeks.


The jury selected two outstanding designs for Commendation from the impressive bevy of professional submissions received this year, including projects from some of the top firms in the country.


Professional Commendation

Seth Stein Architects – Equestrian Centre, Victoria, Australia (completed 2014)

Photography: © Lisbeth Grosmann


Professional Commendation

Duggan Morris Architects – Alfriston Swimming Pool, Buckinghamshire, UK (completed 2014)

Photography: © Jack Hobhouse


In addition to the Commendations, the jury selected one standout project that best exemplified excellence in design from this year’s entries. David Chipperfield Architects’ Office building Moganshan Road combines effortless details and profound elegance with simple yet highly comfortable office space amongst the rapidity of development in China. This project shows a refinement of design well worthy of the highest accolade.


Professional Winner

David Chipperfield Architects – Office building Moganshan Road, Hangzhou, China (completed 2013)

Photography: © Simon Menges


“We are happy and honoured to receive the AIA UK Excellence in Design Award for our project in Hangzhou. We would like to thank our client ‘Hangzhou Fanes Baoyuan Real Estate’ for the great collaboration and support in realizing a building with generous office spaces and in high quality materials.” – David Chipperfield Architects


AIA UK 2015 Excellence in Design Awards - Call For Entries








The American Institute of Architects UK Chapter is pleased to announce its 2015 Excellence in Design Awards Programme. For over 20 years, these awards have proven highly valued by architects as they confer trans-Atlantic recognition for design excellence.


Professional entries are sought from architects, industrial designers, urban planners, landscape architects and interior designers based in Britain, and from around the world for completed projects in the UK.


In past years this broad mix has resulted in winning projects from, among others, Haworth Tompkins, David Chipperfield Architects, Sauerbruch Hutton, Rick Mather Architects, Zaha Hadid Architects, Ian Simpson Architects, Wilkinson Eyre Architects, Edwin Cullinan, Allies & Morrison Architects, Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners, Grimshaw Architects, Eric Parry Architects and Eva Jiricna Architects.



Awards Programme:


(click on the links above to download the full entry instructions)


This year, for the first time ever, AIA UK will additionally seek projects completed by young, emerging firms, with design principals under 40 years of age, as a separate category. The Young Architect award(s) will recognize completed projects displaying design excellence by a new generation, encouraging and rewarding work that may sometimes get overlooked by larger, more established firms.


In parallel with the Professional and Young Architect awards, the Chapter recognises future talent through the Noel Hill Student Travel Award.


Submission deadline: Extended to Thursday 2nd April 2015
Further enquries: 


The Jury:


- Fred Manson, ARB, OBE, Associate Director, Heatherwick Studio

- Alison Brooks, BES, BArch, RIBA, Founding Director, Alison Brooks Architects

- Martin Gledhill, BSc, BArch, MA, 4th Year Studio Leader & Director of Studies MArch, Bath University

- Paul Hyett, PPRIBA, Hon. FAIA, Principal, HKS Architects

- Ricardo Mateu, ARB, RIBA, MAMD, Co-Director, UHA London

- Owen Pritchard, Technical Editor, Architects' Journal

- Brett Steele, AA Dipl, Hon. FRIBA, FRSA, Director, AA School of Architecture

- Brianne Hamilton, AIA, AIA UK President, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates


Awards Gala:


The Design Awards Gala, generously supported by Desso, will be held at the Zaha Hadid Magazine restaurant, at the Serpentine Sackler Gallery in April.


Entry Fees:

Eligible architects, designers or groups thereof may submit an unlimited number of entries; each entry must be submitted separately with a non-refundable fee of:

- £90.00 for Professional entries,

- £70.00 for Young Architect. 


Entry is free of charge for students.


Entry fees can only be accepted in Pounds Sterling.

- Valid entries must be received by 5pm on Thursday 2nd April 2015.

- No late or incomplete entries will be accepted.


Payment should be submitted to AIA UK online below. Confirmation reciept of payment will be provided by email by the chapter executive.

Award Level


AIA UK 2015 Excellence in Design Awards Gala - 28 April


The AIA UK invites you to join us for the:

Excellence in Design Awards Gala 2015


Tuesday, 28 April 2015, 7-11pm


The Magazine Restaurant
Serpentine Sackler Gallery
Kensington Gardens
West Carriage Drive
London W2 2AR


Admission is free but spaces are limited.


Priority will be given to award entry guests.


Please RSVP here